Changes are the trigger point of growth!

Manav Tyagi
4 min readApr 3, 2023

--

Photo by Fusion Medical Animation on Unsplash

In the last 2–3 years, the rate of change has increased. The fuel to it was COVID-19, which was really bad for most of us especially who lost their loved ones. But, some positives also happened.

  • We had more empathy towards other people and their lives
  • Employers believe their employees more (Work from home)
  • Technological shift (Online classes, Online meetings, Online doc’s consultation, etc..)
  • Most importantly, we now know what matters the most in our lives

In my point of view, changes bring only positive things- If you see a bad/negative impact of a change- have patience, that is not the real impact!

I will talk about 3 major changes of my life and how it impacted me.

Ready for my first presentation

Dropping from my post graduation

Dropping from post-graduation was the first trigger of my growth. It sounds cool to be a drop off- but in reality, it is quite the opposite.

I am blessed to have the support of my family, which was why I was able to take that decision. After dropping I had time on my hand to think about what I actually wanted to do.

It took 6–8 months to decide that I wanted to help my father in his furniture export business.

What did I learn while doing my father’s business?

  • Sense of ownership- entrepreneurship
  • Knowing actually how unit economics work- business understanding
  • 3rd party interaction and management- Buyer/Customer and Vendor/Supplier

The scale of the business was small and I didn’t know how to expand it.

I knew that it was time to change.

First salary party with family

Joining a full-time 9 to 5 job

The second trigger of my growth.

I never wanted to “Work for somebody” but I joined 9–5 job because I didn’t want to play in a pond. I was thinking of the sea always.

I never wanted to settle for a 9–5 job, that is not me. However, I worked for 7 years, out of which first 3 years were fun and I had great learning. The rest 4 years, I was addicted to the drug called “Salary”.

What I learned from the job-

  • Structuring your work
  • Going deep into one aspect of work
  • Showing up daily
  • “Just work” is not your life
  • You can’t have friends at work, not possible

Nevertheless, I left my job in Aug’2022 and came out of my comfort zone. I changed again and triggered growth.

I thought this was the maximum I can get from the job in terms of learning. I didn’t want to stop learning and growing at this age.

Going up the ladder of designation is not growth.

9–5 jobs are the worst thing that you can do to yourself if continued after a certain threshold.

First travel with family after becoming content creator

Becoming a full-time content creator

It’s been just ~7 months since I have started my journey of becoming a full-time content creator. I started with YouTube with Vlogs and soon started a Tech channel (Tech Appetite)

Why I became a content creator?

I always envisioned myself creating content. As I was on drug addiction (salary), everything else was blur to me other than the money. In reality, the position/designation you carry and the money you earn are too artificial/virtual.

I was just chasing money and the corporate designation ladder, without thinking about my well-being (mental + physical health).

This is the most recent change in my life and I am loving it. I want to continue on this path for more time and grow myself by changing whatever would be required.

POV- Changes that give instant happiness/pleasure/satisfaction/joy, are not always good and changes that bring instant sadness/grief/regret/depression, are not always bad.

Do tell me your change story below in the responses section. I will read it, get motivated and reply :)

--

--